40 years ago

Angus County Council last week considered names for wards in the new Angus District Council.
Montrose Landward (Hillside) goes along with Lethnot and Menmuir, Lochlee and Edzell; and Stracathro, Dun and Logie-Pert, and will be called North Esk. The name Lunan was proposed for the district comprising Craigh (including Ferryden), Farnell, Kinnell and Maryton, Inverkeilor, Lunan, Brechin (landward) and Careston. Mrs Douglas Murray thought South Esk a better name. It was agreed that a final discussion take place at the landward committee.

There was no opposition to the proposed regional names for the landward wards of the council. They will be Airlie, Strathmore, Dalhousie and Claverhouse.