Access Panel elects members

Angus Access Panel recently held their Annual General Meeting where speaker for the evening, Neil Rodwell, welfare rights officer at Angus Council gave an interesting and informative talk on the latest changes to the Welfare Reform Bill.

Following the talk Neil competently answered questions from those present at the meeting.

Agnes then gave her report for the year outlining the activities of the Access Panel over the past year and all the challenges faced by the Panel. “A lot of the work would not be possible if we did not have a great team of dedicated volunteers. The work they do is invaluable.”

After serving as secretary and treasurer for the past 20 years Marion Elrick decided it was time to stand down. Agnes thanked her for her hard work and dedication over these years and wished her a long and happy retirement.

The new committee is as follows:- Chairman – Agnes Mackay; Vice Chairman - Marian Shepherd; Secretary - Kathleen Ferrier; Treasurer - Maureen Robb; Specialist Advisor - Derek Bowler.

Local Burgh Representatives - Forfar - Bill McLeod, Brechin - David Dewar, Montrose - Margaret Bowler, Carnoustie and Monifieth - Margaret and Malcom Morrison, Arbroath - David Dewar; Landward - Marian Shepherd and Campbell; Guide Dog Centre - Ian Flannagan; Elected Member -Sheila Hands.