Annual Matter of Opinion

Pictured are the Menmuir WRI team
Pictured are the Menmuir WRI team

Menmuir WRI took part in the in Scottish WRI ‘Matter of Opinions’ annual competition held at Stonehaven Town Hall on Saturday, October 26.

The event is competed for by Federations in the north and south of Scotland in alternate years.

There were seven teams involved in all, each composing of four members. Representing Menmuir were chairman Mary Anderson and team members Sheila McIntosh, Frances Smith and Suzanne Bennett.

The teams taking part were Kingsmuir WRI (Angus Federation), Cairnbanno WRI (Aberdeenshire Federation), Cumbernauld WRI (Stirling, Clackmannanshire and West Perth Federation), Marykirk WRI (Kincardineshire Federation) and Dull and District WRI (Perth and Kinross Federation).

In the ‘Matter of Opinion’ competition, the teams were given 16 minutes to debate a selection of topics, which they were first given sight of 15 minutes before competing.

The results were as follows:-

First prize, SWRI Golden Jubilee Cup - Cairnbanno WRI.

Second prize, The Kennedy Shield - Dull and District WRI.

Third prize - Marykirk WRI, Aberdeenshire Federation.

Best Chairman: Marian Findlay (Marykirk WRI).

Best Panel Member: Carolyn Maniukiewicz (Cairnbanno WRI).