From the archives: 40 years ago

A meeting attended by fully 70 members of the public was held in the Inglis Memorial hall, Edzell, to discuss the proposed constitutions for the community council.

The council is to be known as Inveresk Community Council and Mr C. B. Simpson, Schoolhouse, presided. The area embraces Edzell, Glenesk, Glen Lethnot, Careston, Menmuir and Stracathro. The Inveresk Council will be represented by a committee of 18, three from each geographical area.

The Tayside Police Force has come into being under the command of Chief Constable John R. Little, former Chief Constable of Dundee.

The new force embraces that of Dundee City, along with the constabularies of Angus and Perth and Kinross. This change will in no way diminish police service throughout the region, said the Chief Constable, who adds: “Although Dundee is headquarters of the Tayside force, any changes will be in organisation rather than operation. The service will be the same to the public.”

The new force will be run on a divisional basis, the boundaries exactly coinciding with those of the new District Councils.