14 bid for 13 seats

THE electorate of Brechin will have a pre-Christmas opportunity to go to the polls – to elect members to the City of Brechin & District Community Council.

From a position where it looked unlikely that a community council for the area would be re-established, 14 candidates have come forward to fill the 13 places available.

The fourteen candidates are Pierangela Adam, William Anderson, Susan Barr, Evelyn Clark, Sheila Coutts, Eric Gray, Frances Keats, Mark Law, Wendy Law, Grahame Lockhart, Joy Mowatt, David Mumford and John Temple.

The poll to elect the 13 members to serve on the community council will be held on Monday, December 5 to Saturday, December 10 at the Damacre Centre.

Polling times are as follows:- 9.30 am to 12.30 pm and 5 pm to 8 pm on Monday, December 5; 5 pm to 8 pm on Wednesday, December 7; 9.30 am to 12.30 pm on Friday, December 9; and 9.30 am to 12.30 pm on Saturday, December 10.

The count and declaration of results will take place on Monday, December 12, followed by an inaugural meeting of the new community council.

No polling cards will be issued for this election but everyone eligible to vote is urged to go along to the Damacre Centre to cast their vote.

Anyone who is not currently on the voters’ roll and who wishes to register to vote should contact the council’s election team before December 1.

Angus Council recently began the process to establish a community council for the City of Brechin & District, following a petition from local residents for one to be formed in the area.

Full details of the candidates nominated and their personal statements can be accessed from www.angus.gov.uk/elections