Back in business as 13 are elected

There has been some festive cheer for Brechin this week with the reformation of the City of Brechin and District Community Council.

Fourteen nominations were received for 13 seats. A poll to elect the 13 members of the community council was held last week after no nominations were withdrawn.

The newly-elected Community Council held its inaugural meeting in the Damacre Centre immediately after the count on Monday night.

The following thirteen members were elected:-

Chairman – Grahame Lockhart, vice chairman – Frances Keats, secretary – Eric Gray, minute secretary – Sheila Coutts, press officer – Joy Mowatt, Pierangela Adam, William Anderson, Susan Barr, Evelyn Clark, Mark Law, David Mumford, John Temple, Paul Wright.

The positions of treasurer, planning contact and cultural officer are still be decided and will be announced at a later date.

Angus Council began the process to establish a community council for the City of Brechin and District, following a petition from local residents asking for one to be formed in the area.

During the community council elections held in October 2010, there were less than half the number of candidates for the vacancies in the City of Brechin and District community council area. This meant that the community council could not be established at that time.

Community councils play an important role in the community and have a number of statutory duties where they are consulted on planning and certain licensing matters.

Members agreed to hold meetings on the first Tuesday of the month with their first meeting taking place on Tuesday, February, 7 at 7.30 pm in the Damacre Centre - unless advised otherwise.