Christina shortlisted for national award

Pictured is Christina at work
Pictured is Christina at work

Edzell Woods nail technician Christina Pert has been unveiled as a finalist in a category of the national Scratch Star awards.

Christina, who works at Laurencekirk-based BeSpoke Hair and Beauty, has been short listed in the Gel Tech of the Year (sponsored by OPI) category.

The awards, run by Scratch magazine, are awards solely for nail technicians.

In order to be crowned Gel Tech of the Year, Christina will have to fend of competition from four other technicians.

The finalists alongside Christina are as follows:-

Kerri Jarvis, Cutigel; Chrissie Pearce, Chrissie’s Nail Designs; Karina Perematko, Independent; Paulina Zdrada, Indulge Leeds.

Speaking about the nomination, Christina said: “I am super excited to have made it to the final five for Scratch Star Award Gel Nail Tech 2014.

“The next part of the competition means I go to London on the March 17, to compete in the next category doing my practical work in front of judges, so will be a great experience.”

The awards night will be held in London at Café de Paris on the 11th May 11, where the winners shall be announced.

This isn’t the first time that Christina has been recognised for her work.

Staff at BeSpoke Hair and Beauty are no stranger to awards. The salon won the Beauty Salon of the Year 2012 award at the Official Scottish Hair and Beauty Awards 2012, where Christina was also named as a finalist in the Nail Technician category. Last year, she won the Expert Nail Technician award at the Scottish Hair and Beauty Awards.

The full list of Scratch Star award categories are as follows:-

Nail Stylist of the Year; Gel Polish Stylist of the Year; L&P Tech of the Year; Manicurist of the Year; Mobile Nailist of the Year; Gel Tech of the Year; Nail Artist of the Year: Polish & Paint; Mixed Media Artist of the Year; Pedicurist of the Year; Educator of the Year; Nail Salon of the Year: Independent; Nail Salon of the Year: Salon Environment; Retail Salon of the Year; Session Stylist of the Year; Services to the Nail Industry.