Edinburgh Angus Club awards for Brechin pupils

A number of pupils across Angus and Dundee received awards at the Edinburgh Angus Club’s summer reception and awards ceremony, with five pupils from Brechin High School collecting awards.

The club was founded in 1840 and instituted by Royal Warrant in 1841 celebrates its 170th anniversary this year.

Its original purpose was to support Angus students undertaking courses of study in Edinburgh University, and now the club awards prizes to senior students who have displayed excellence, both academic and personal, in the Angus Academies and High Schools, and, in Dundee, Dundee High School, Grove Academy, Harris Academy and Morgan Academy.

These students progress to higher education across Universities and Colleges throughout the UK, and, in 2010, the club widened its remit by instituting the first new award for decades to the Angus College.

The pupils from Brechin High School, who won awards were as follows:-

Montanna Mathieson, Higher Biology; Ryan Mackie, Higher English; Garth Jamieson, Higher Mathematics; Cameron Mathieson, Higher Modern Studies; Aaron Murray, Higher Music.

Also receiving awards were the following Forfar Academy pupils:-

Nina Cameron, Dux in Geography; Alannah Coupar, Dux in History (joint); Robyn Lee, Dux in History (joint); Robyn Lee, Proxime Accessit; Jack Lucas, Dux of School.

Two students from Webster’s High School also picked up awards.

They were:- Oriana Moschovakis, Proxime Accessit and Catriona Ferguson, Dux of School.