School Notes

Brechin High School

Youth Parliament: Brechin High School is delighted that Andrew Laurie in S5 has been elected to the Scottish Youth Parliament for the North Angus area.

Andrew follows in the footsteps of another Brechin High School pupil, Nicola Hampton, who was also elected in 2005.

Andrew will represent this area for the next three years. Brechin High pupils gave Andrew great support by voting in large numbers.

Staffing: Mrs Summerville has left to go on maternity leave from the start of the summer term. Mrs Nunes is relocating to Edinburgh and will be taking up her new post at Liberton High School on April 25. Mrs Carrie Rae will take up her post as a modern languages teacher at the start of the summer term.

In remembrance: One of the suggestions that pupils put forward to remembrance of Andy Crowe was to take part in a short walk within the vicinity of the school.

This will take place within core PE lessons.

Different classes within each year group will take part at times when they have PE during their timetable.

All pupils who take part will be given a special ‘I walked for Andy’ badge and they can donate to the ‘Help for Heroes’ charity.

School meals: Angus Council has announced the price of a school meal will increase for secondary pupils to £1.90 from April 18.

Charities week: The head boy/head girl team organised a range of events that included a quiz, gunging, throwing a teacher in the pool and the senior boys having their legs waxed.

In total, almost £900 was raised for charity. The Pupil Council will decide next term which charities will benefit from the money raised.

Congratulations go to James Yates in S2 who organised a sponsored cycle from Brechin High School to Edzell on Saturday, March 19, with over twenty cyclists taking part. James collected over £300 and has donated this money to the Red Nose campaign.

Pupil Council: The Pupil Council has been busy organising a number of events in school.

They made a successful bid for funding to present an Alcohol Awareness Day on Friday, March 25.

This involved Pupil Council members being trained by a drama worker to delivery workshops on a range of topics.

They arranged for partner agencies from NHS Tayside and Tayside Police to provide an input on a range of topics.

A Fair Trade tea dance is being organised for Saturday, May 7 at 2 pm in Brechin High School.

Midnight football: Congratulations go to Young Sports Ambassadors, Rebekah Drummond and Dana McFarlane, who organised a 12-hour football event on Thursday, March 31.

This involved about 60 pupils taking part in short games from 12 noon through to 12 midnight.

This project was part of their role to encourage young people to take part in sport. By the end of the 12 hour session, thirty games had been played.

Angus School Rock Festival: This will take place on Saturday, June 4 in Brechin City Hall.

Rock bands from all over Angus will be taking part.

Writing competition: Congratulations go to all of the Mini Saga Creative Writing Competition 2010 winners in S1!

The following pupils’ work will be appearing in the book Mini Sagas – Creative Capers - Nina Edwards, Orianne Moffat, Sarah-Anne Hodge, Katie Coutts, Craig Kantypowitcz, Lily Garget, Chloe Cattanach, Chantel Sharp, Karolina Naglik, Ellie Dalgarno, Nathan Blair, Courtney Morrison, Ian Black, Nadia Anderson, Harry Barclay, Connor Dunleavy, Chloe Villis, Matthew Drummond, Hannah Wilson, Jack Robertson, Jenna Smith, Calum Anderson and Jenna Milne.

A copy of the book will be available in Brechin High School library as well as in libraries across the UK and Republic of Ireland from June 30.

Creative writing: The following pupils took part in Brechin’s A’ Write Creative Writing Conference on Wednesday, March 30:-

S1 - Jenna Smith, Chloe Villis, Lily Garget, Craig Kantypowicz, Courtney Morrison Sarah Hodge, Victoria Stewart, Catherine Wales, Tom Pringle, Georgie Pringle, Shonia Johnson, Leanne Stewart, Dylan Peters, Jodi Allison Sophie Goodwin, Kirsty-Ann Brown, Adam Bissett and Rebecca Leitch.

S2 - Maia Middelton, James Yates, Charlie Thornton, Ryan Collie, Calum Aish, Daisy Grieve, Aaron Gray, Dion Allen, Nathan Guy, Sandy Dakers, Kira Bruce, Patrick Kinnear, Becky Beattie, Shannon Craig, Nat Edwards, Charlie Hunter, Erin Smith, Jamie Cochrane, Finlay Ross, Alana Duncan and Jodie Jackson

S6 - Calum Farquhar, Laura Williamson, Ysabeau Middleton, Catherine Harris and Erin Welsh.

Web prefects: A Web Prefect service has been made available at lunch time on Mondays and Thursdays.

Web Prefects have been trained by Web Project Workers to provide a service for pupils in S1-S6 who need someone to talk to /advice about self-harming, drugs, sex, alcohol or anything that’s on their mind.

The Web Prefects are a group of S5 & S6 pupils who you can trust to keep your questions and queries confidential.

The Web Prefects consists of Megan Leven, Laura Nicoll, Archie Middleton, Andrew Laurie, Joel Henderson, Lauren Forbes, Kelly Smith and Jonathan Kelly. At any of the lunch time drop-ins there will be two Web Prefects on duty.