Get ready to cast your vote

VOTERS will head for the polls on Thursday (tomorrow) to elect who will represent them for a new term of office on Angus Council.

A total of 29 councillors will be elected to represent eight wards.

Locally, the Brechin and Edzell ward will be represented by three councillors, with six candidates vying for your votes.

They are Bob Myles (Independent), Mairi Evans and Jim Houston (Scottish National Party), Janet Cowan (Liberal Democrat), Jane Fergson (Conservative) and Douglas Murray (Independent).

Which of the three win the seats is up to you – the electorate, with polling stations open from 7 am to 10 pm on Thursday (tomorrow).

Before you set out you should check where you should vote.

Details of your local polling station will be on your poll card. If you have not received it or are unsure of where to go call the council’s ACCESSLine on 08452 777 778.

Take your poll card with you to the polling station, as it may speed things. But don’t worry if you don’t have it, you can still vote without it!

Remember that this year you vote using numbers instead of using an X.

Just put a 1 next to your first choice, a 2 next to your second choice, a 3 next to your third choice and so on.

You can choose how many candidates to number. As long as you number at least one, your vote will be counted.

If you’re unsure of how to complete your ballot paper, a member of staff will be able to help you.

Pop your ballot paper in the ballot box and that’s it done!

If you applied for a postal vote, make sure it is returned by 10 pm on Thursday, May 3.

If you have left it too late to post back, you can drop it off at your polling station or to the Elections Office at Angus House, Orchardbank Business Park, Forfar .

For more information on voting and the elections visit

The site also includes an animated character called Victor the Voter who will explain what to do when you go to the polling station to cast your vote on Thursday (tomorrow).