Local SNP select new branch officers

Brechin and Edzell Branch SNP have recently gone through the process of electing their office holders for the coming year.

A spokesperson for the group said: “We are pleased to have elected a well balanced team, drawing from both our experienced members and those new members that have joined us since the referendum.”

The new office holders are as follows:

Convener, Jim Houston; Vice-Convener, Stewart Mowatt; Treasurer, David Smart; Second Officer, Marianne Evans; Secretary, Brian Mitchell; Political Organiser, Fergus Gilles; Women’s Officer, Bridget Gilles; Political Education Officer, Elaine MacNicol; Social Officer, David Smart; Membership Secretary, Pauline Belford; Youth Officer, Katarina Robertson; Press Officer, Michael Heron; Facebook Administrator, Elaine MacNicol.

The spokesperson added: “We believe this is the right team to contest the 2015 General Election, and are hopeful that we can mobilise to return Mike Weir to Westminster with an increased majority.”