SNP take two of the three Brechin seats

mairi evans.
mairi evans.

THE electorate has returned two serving councillors to represent the Brechin and Edzell ward on an Angus Council which is now back under the control of the Scottish National Party.

Bob Myles, standing as an Independent, and Mairi Evans of the Scottish National Party, can look forward to a new term of office, joined in representing the interests of Brechin and Edzell by another SNP councillor in Jim Houston.

bob myles.

bob myles.

Mairi Evans cruised through at stage one of the process, having attracted 1145 first preference votes.

Bob Myles (631 first preference votes) clinched his seat at stage four, with Jim Houston (459 first preference votes) making it through at stage five.

The three unsuccessful candidates were Douglas Murray (Independent), Jane Ferguson (Conservative) and Janet Cowan (Liberal-Democrat).

Overall, the Scottish National Party won 15 of the 29 seats to wrest back control from the council from the rainbow alliance, which comprised Conservative, Labour, Liberal-Democrat and Independent members.

jim houston.

jim houston.

On a Friday morning of high drama, the Brechin and Edzell ward was the second to be declared, following hard on the heels of nearby Kirriemuir and Dean ward, where Liberal-Democrat Alison Andrews was the first of a number of high-profile serving councillors to be unseated.

The Kirrie electorate instead plumped for the husband and wife team of Iain and Jeanette Gaul, representing the SNP, and former Kirriemuir Community Council chairman Roland Proctor (Conservative).

Other notable scalps to fall as the morning progressed included Independent Peter Nield and Conservative John Rymer, as the SNP edged towards the 15 seats they required to regain control of the council.

The fourteen others comprise eight independents, four Conservatives and one Labour member, the Liberal-Democrats being wiped out altogether.

Members of the incoming SNP administration met on Sunday to focus on putting things in place for the new term of office.

The make-up of the administration will come much clearer on Tuesday of next week (May 15) when a statutory meeting of the new council will be held in the Town and County Hall, Forfar.

That’s when many of the big questions will be answered. Who will follow in the footsteps of Ruth Leslie Melville as Provost of Angus. Who will get the depute provost’s position and who will succeed Bob Myles as leader of the administration (see separate story on page 2).

The heads of the various committees will also require to be decided - positions up for grabs including the convener and vice-convener of the civic licensing, corporate services, development management review, development standards, education, infrastructure services, neighbourhood services, social work and health and strategic policy committees.