Views sought on ward changes

A public consultation has begun on proposed changes to electoral wards in all 32 local council areas.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland is conducting the exercise as part of the Fifth Reviews of Electoral Arrangements.

Its proposals contain recommendations for councillor numbers in each area as well as the number, boundaries and names of wards.

Proposals for Angus are to reduce the number of councillors in the Arbroath East and Lunan ward by one; make changes to ward boundaries by East Haven and Friockheim; make no changes to wards one (Kirriemuir and Dean), two (Brechin and Edzell), three (Forfar and District), four (Monifieth and Sidlaw), and eight (Montrose and District); and rename Arbroath West and Letham ward to Arbroath West, Letham and Friockheim but make no changes to the other ward names.

Details of proposals are available at

Paper copies of the proposals are available at display points across council areas. The Commission’s recommendations are expected in 2016, with the resulting wards available for the local government elections in May 2017.