Polling station open

The poll to elect the thirteen members who will serve the City of Brechin and District Community Council is now well underway, but there is still time left for those wishing to vote who have yet to take part in the poll.

The electorate of Brechin have until Saturday to cast their vote at the poll held in the Damacre Centre with the centre open from 5 pm to 8 pm today, Wednesday, December 7; 9.30 am to 12.30 pm on Friday, December 9; and 9.30 am to 12.30 pm on Saturday, December 10.

Fourteen candidates are standing for thirteen seats. The candidates are Pierangela Adam, William Anderson, Susan Barr, Evelyn Clark, Sheila Coutts, Eric Gray, Frances Keats, Mark Law, Wendy Law, Grahame Lockhart, Joy Mowatt, David Mumford, John Temple and Paul Wright.

The count and declaration of results will take place on Monday, December 12, followed by an inaugural meeting of the new community council.

No polling cards will be issued for this election but everyone eligible to vote is urged to go along to the Damacre Centre to cast their vote.

Full details of the candidates nominated and their personal statements can be accessed from www.angus.gov.uk/elections