Roll of honour for sports award revealed

Angus Provost at the ticket launch
Angus Provost at the ticket launch

People in Angus are being urged to turn and celebrate the county’s sporting stars at an annual sports awards ceremony.

The shortlist for the categories for the Angus Sports Awards 2013, has now been announced with competitors from a variety of sports nominated.

The ceremony, in association with Angus Ahead, is taking place at the Reid Hall, Forfar on Thursday, March 13 at 6.15 p.m. and tickets are now available.

The Roll of Honour for the Angus Sports Awards 2013 is as follows:

Sports personality of the year -

Maxi Hirsch, backhold wrestling; Lynn Calder, boxing; Alan Soutar, darts; Callum Leese, cricket; Yhana Van Wees, basketball; Abbi Grant, football.

Young sports personality of the year -

Ewan Wheat, golf; Erin Lees, basketball; Christian Clark, ice hockey; Ethan Glennie, football; Hannah Robb, basketball; Sarah McKenzie, gymnastics; Jack Henderson, in line hockey; Caitlin Philbin, fencing; Claire Robertson, golf; Sam Cameron, karate; Ellen Robertson, athletics; Joel McFarlane, athletics; Niamh Feighan, athletics; Brennan Somers, shooting; Olivia Waddell, highland dancing; Erin Moore, netball; Ellie Callon, basketball; Lauren Middleton, badminton; Ryan Cameron, cricket; Ethan McColgan, football; Sophie Smith, swimming; Abbie Clark, equestrian; Taylor Smith, basketball; Kayleigh Steele, karate.

Coach of the Year -

Laura Hare, basketball; Robert Donnan, football; Pierre Bernard, swimming; Liz Martin, athletics; Stephen Greenhill, rugby; Scott Haxton, swimming; Evelyn Smith, ten pin bowling; Graeme Walker, tennis; Scott Nicoll, football.

Team of the year -

Tayside Special Olympics, football ā€˜Dā€™ band team; Arbroath High School, S2 netball team; Arbroath High School, S3 netball team; Arbroath High School, open girls basketball team; Tayside Special Olympics, team 2013; Arbroath United Cricket Club 1st XI; Arbroath High School, under 14 girls basketball team; Angus Darts Academy.

School sports volunteer of the year -

Joe McCall, Carnoustie cluster; Duncan Baynes, Southmuir Primary School; Ron McDonald, Monifieth cluster; Mandy Muir, Borrowfield Primary School; Karen Pithie, Borrowfield Primary School; Corey Pinder, Warddykes Primary School; Holly Lamb, Warddykes Primary School; Thomas Sykes, Warddykes Primary School; Lynda Sim, Arbroath High School.

Sports personality of the year for people with a disability -

Mark Bothwell, athletics; Kerry Duncan, badminton; Gary Falconer, swimming; Kevin Trebilcock, badminton; Courtney Bernard, swimming; Faith Herron, athletics; Kein Speed, wheelchair football; Maria Orsi, swimming; Duncan Reid, ten pin bowling; John Watt, carpet bowls; Bill Fairweather, carpet bowls.

Services to sport -

Derek Nisbet, swimming; Lynn Lyburn, swimming; John Grant, basketball; Dick Auchinleck, cricket; David Strachan, boxing; Laura Smith, disability sport.

Club volunteer of the year -

Eric Scott, lawn bowls; Ian Chisholm, cricket; Kieran Bell, wheeled sports; Andrew Patterson, wheeled sports; Liz Martin, athletics; Jan Fairlie, tennis; Caroline Campbell, rugby; Andrew McLaren, golf; Bob Cassidy, boccia; Janice Crow, golf; Murray Duguid, rugby.

All nominees and nominators have been invited to attend the ceremony, hosted and broadcast by Radio Tay.

Please contact 01307 475373 or to book your place at the event.