Six candidates contest local seat

SIX candidates - including two current councillors - will be contesting the Brechin and Edzell ward at the Angus Council elections in May.

When the door closed for nominations last Thursday, it was revealed that Independent councillor Bob Myles and Mairi Evans, representing the Scottish National Party, would be seeking re-election on Thursday, May 3.

They will be joined in the bid to win one of the three seats representing Brechin and Edzell ward by another SNP candidate, Jim Houston, Janet Cowan, representing the Scottish Liberal Democrats, Scottish Conservative and Unionist candidate Jane Ferguson and Douglas Murray, who has put his hat into the ring as an Independent.

Throughout the county there are 50 candidates bidding for the 29 seats on the council.

Among the big names who are not standing for re-election are current Angus Provost Ruth Leslie-Melville, Councillor Ian Mackintosh, Councillor Jim Millar and former Angus Provost Bill Middleton.

There are eight wards in Angus, with four seats up for grabs in five of them - Arbroath West & Letham, Arbroath East & Lunan, Montrose & District, Monifieth & Sidlaw and Forfar & District. Three councillors will be elected in each of the following wards - Brechin & Edzell, Kirrie & Dean and Carnoustie & District.

The SNP is, once again, fielding the largest number of party candidates, 17 all told, including three in Monifieth & Sidlaw, with 15 successes required to gain an overall majority.

The Scottish Conservative & Unionists and the Scottish Liberal Democrats are each fielding eight candidates, with Labour putting up five and 12 Independents seeking election to the council chamber.

With the countdown to the election now well underway residents of Angus are being reminded to make sure they can take part in the voting process on Thursday, May 3 by registering to vote.

The Electoral Registration Officer in Angus said: “You must be on the electoral register to have your say on who sits on your council.

“If you have recently moved to the area, or moved house it is important to make sure that you register at your new address, otherwise you won’t be able to vote.

“It only takes a few minutes to complete a registration form but you must make sure we receive it by Wednesday, April 18.”

Registration forms are available by calling 01307 462416 or you can print a form from

For a full list of the candidates contesting the eight wards in the 2012 Angus Council election turn to page four.