Young people seeking Youth Parliament posts

Six young people from Angus are currently campaigning to be elected to the Scottish Youth Parliament in the elections to be held March 23.

Angus Council area is split into two constituencies - Angus South and the new Angus North & Mearns - to mirror the Scottish Parliament constituencies.

In Angus North & Mearns the candidates are Andrew Laurie, Brechin; Leigh Douglas, Forfar and Ronan Valentine, Montrose.

Unlike the Scottish Parliament, the Youth Parliament allows two young people to represent their constituency but as the Angus North seat is shared with Aberdeenshire Council area, only one candidate will be elected from the Angus area and the other from Aberdeenshire area.

The candidates for Angus South are William Campbell, Carnoustie; Robbie Cargill, Arbroath and Douglas Inglis, Monifieth.

The election will be held on Wednesday, March 23 and ballot boxes and voting will take place in all Angus secondary schools, all Angus Council community learning and development bases and in Angus College.

Voting is open to all 12 – 25 year olds and young people will be given the chance to vote by the alternative vote system.

The count will take place on Thursday, March 24 with the announcement of results at 6pm in the No1 for Youth base in Forfar.

Following the election, the successful candidates will attend induction training, which will be provided by the Scottish Youth Parliament, before they attend their first sitting of the parliament in June.

The Angus candidates are supported during their term as members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYP) by staff at No1 for Youth.

If you have any questions or queries or want to raise a youth issue with them then please contact No1 For Youth on 01307 468859.