Angus Sport Awards ceremony

editorial image

The nominations for the Angus Sports Awards 2015 are in and almost 100 names have been put forward for recognition.

ANGUSalive is inviting the community to join the celebration of local sporting stars at their annual ceremony.

The awards are presented by ANGUSalive in association with Business Angus, with the grand ceremony being held at the Reid Hall, Forfar on Thursday 10 March.

A total of 98 nominees have been put forward across the eight specialist categories and are named on the 2015 Roll of Honour.

The awards giving recognition of the commitment, achievements and dedication of individuals and teams involved in sport across Angus.

Tickets for the awards ceremony are now available and will be issued on a first come first served basis.

Come along and show your support to our Angus sporting achievers of 2015.

Tickets are £12 and include a two-course dinner.

Please contact to book your ticket for this star-studded occasion.

The Angus Sports Awards 2015 selection panel meets shortly to finalise short lists and winners for each award category.

These will be announced at the awards ceremony.

All nominees and nominators have been invited to attend the ceremony that is hosted and broadcast by Radio Tay.

The Roll of Honour for the Angus Sports Awards 2015 is as follows:

Sports Personality of the Year, sponsored by AUCHTERHOUSE COUNTRY SPORTS and recognising the achievements of a top sports performer in 2015 and includes performers that compete on paralympic and elite levels:

- Darren Burnett, lawn bowls; Fraser Burnett, cricket; Ryan Burnett, lawn bowls.

Young Sports Personality of the Year, sponsored by Radio Tay – CASH FOR KIDS and recognising the achievements of a top junior sports performer in 2015:

- Harris Carnegie, cricket; James Craik, curling/tae kwon do; Matthew Crighton, water polo; Kaie-Lee Disbury, gymnastics; John Docherty, boxing; Niamh Scott Harper, sailing; Joel McFarlane, athletics; Ross Milne, rugby; Caitlin Philbin, fencing; Hannah Robb, basketball; Darryl Sinclair, cricket; Alix Small, gymnastics; Sophie Smith, swimming; Gregor Stevenson, archery; Anna Sturrock, sailing.

Coach of the Year, sponsored by KLM PARTNERSHIP CHARTERED SURVEYORS and recognising the achievements and commitment of a sports coach in 2015, applying to voluntary coaches at all levels:

- Bob Cassidy, bocce/boccia; Kim Dalgarno, ten pin bowling; Stuart Davidson, football; John Duffy, football; Scott Haxton, swimming; Lynn Lyburn, swimming; Heather McCallum, swimming; Alison McInally, netball; Colin McLaren, football; Scott Nicoll, football; Callum Owens, MMA; John Robertson, football; Evelyn Smith, ten pin bowling; Lynsey Stuart, badminton; Julie Thomson, swimming; Graeme Walker, tennis.

Team of the Year, sponsored by ANGUS COMMUNITY SPORT HUBS and recognising the achievements and commitment of a sports team/group in 2015, applying to teams/groups at all levels:

- Arbroath United Cricket Club 1sts; Brechin Bruce Rugby Club; Newtyle United Football Club; Tayside Dynamos Powerchair Football Club; Tayside Special Olympics.

School Sport Volunteer of the Year, sponsored by Angus Active School and recognising the contribution made to extra-curricular sport across Angus schools in 2015:

- Fiona Arburthnott, swimming/table tennis; Eliza Armstrong, netball; Janis Black, lawn bowls; Lee Bledowski, basketball; Elizabeth Bradley, dance; Steven Bremner, badminton; June Bunyan, multi sports; Bob Christie, lawn bowls; Stewart Ferguson, football; Shaun Harkins, football; Lynsay Jukes, netball; Caroline Kerr, dance; Iain Lockhart, multi sports; Ron MacDonald, golf; Laura Mather, multi sports; Andrew McLaren, golf; Tam Mill, lawn bowls; Craig Milne, football; Steven Nicoll, football; Ryan Proctor, basketball; Amy-Louise Scott, netball; Johnathan Simmons-Riach, multi sports; Kirsty Stevens, multi sports; Laura Sturrock, netball; Julie Taylor, multi sports; Bruce Todd, basketball; David Vernon, multi sports; Kerry Walker, multi sports.

Sports Personality of the Year Award for People with a Disability, sponsored by ANGUS DISABILITY SPORT in partnership with NATIONAL OILWELL VARCO and recognising an individual with a physical, sensory or learning disability, who took part in sporting activities in 2015. This award only considers nominations for people below paralympic and elite levels: Grace Duncan, bocce; Debbie Killoh, ten pin bowling; Gemma Lumsdaine, wheelchair basketball/wheelchair rugby; Murran Maclay, wheelchair racing/wheelchair basketball; Duncan Reid, ten pin bowling; Simon Richardson, table tennis; Robert Simpson, powerlifting; Andrew Sinclair, cycling; Kevin Trebilcock, badminton.

Service to Sport Award, sponsored by DUNDEE & ANGUS COLLEGE and recognising someone who has made an outstanding contribution to sport in Angus, as administrator, official, coach or helper over a number of years:

Murray Johnstone, cricket; Elinor Phillips, horse riding; Fergus Reid, cricket; Sandra Robertson, rugby; Gary Skelly, football; Laura Smith, multi sports; Hope Stewart, netball; Pam Thomson, swimming; Billy Wales, karate.

Club Volunteer of the Year Award, sponsored by SPECIAL OLYMPICS SCOTLAND and recognising an individual within any role who has made a positive impact through their commitment to their club/group in 2015:

Andy Baxter, tennis; Caroline Campbell, rugby; Linda Campbell, swimming; Rebekah Campbell, swimming; Kenneth Christie, cricket; Paul Gersok, lawn bowls; Grant Hutchison, cricket; Brian Johnston, lawn bowls; Chris Kettles, football; Andrew McLaren, golf.