Around the grounds

Forfar Athletic’s efforts to leapfrog Stenhousemuir into sixth in the SPFL League One table proved fruitless as they went down 4-2 to second in the table Dunfermline Athletic on Saturday, writes Chris Sutton.

Despite the Pars taking an early lead through Fayssal El-Bakhtaoui, Forfar pushed the play-off hopefuls in a tight first half, equalising through a James Dale shot after 36 minutes. The Loons took the lead after the hour mark with Gavin Swankie firing home from 25 yards but unfortunately, this lead proved to be shortlived with Stephen Husband equalising after 69 minutes before a calamitous Darren Dods own goal sent the away side into the lead just two minutes later.

Dunfermline substitute Lawrence Shankland put the game to bed in the 89th minute with a volley that gave Forfar ‘keeper Rab Douglas no chance.

Next Saturday, Forfar make the short trip to take on bottom of the table Arbroath, who earned a draw away to third place Stranraer thanks to a Paul McManus goal after 14 minutes before the home side equalised with just over 10 minutes remaining through Grant Gallagher.

Brechin City were left heartbroken after a 90th minute goal by Lewis Coult consigned them to defeat away to Airdrieonians.

Robert Thomson had given Brechin a first half lead but it proved to be short lived with Ross Gilmour levelling the game just three minutes later.

Brechin host Stranraer at Glebe Park next week and will be looking to get back to winning ways as they attempt to reach the playoffs.

Down in League Two, Montrose earned three points away to bottom club Queens Park through a Paul Watson goal after the hour mark and next week will look to capitalise on that win as they travel to face third placed Clyde at Broadwood.

Meanwhile, there is still time to cast your vote for January’s Goal of the Month at and have the chance to win an SPFL Mitre ball.

Goals from Willo Flood (Aberdeen), Filip Kiss (Ross County), Virgil Van Dijk (Celtic), Stevie May (St Johnstone), Jordan Kirkpatrick (Dumbarton), David Templeton (Rangers) and Martyn Fotheringham (Forfar Athletic) made the shortlist.