Beavers come third in Swimming Gala

Brechin Beavers Swimming Club travelled to Arbroath Swimming Pool on Saturday, March 21, to take part in the first swimming gala of the Tayside League competition for 2015.

Teams from Dundee (DCA), Forfar, Carnoustie, Menziehill and Brechin took part.

The Beavers were missing some swimmers due to other commitments but that did not deter the team from putting in a strong performance. The atmosphere at this gala was very exciting and the gala was enjoyed by all who took part and all who came along to support.

The gala began with the Medlay relays and what a fantastic start the Beavers had with two first places from the nine years and under girls and boys. Girls team consisted of Nina Kerr, Heidi Smith, Maia Birse Archbold, Rebekah Angus and Maiya Hill. Boys team swimmers were Rennie McMillan, Alex Thomson, Kenzie McMillan, Sean Willis and Kyle Steel.

Personal best performances were evident from many swimmers. There were first place swims from Heidi Smith and Alex Thomson in the nine years and under 25m Breast stroke, first place swim for Jacob Smith in the 10/11 years 50m Breast Stroke. Joel Thomson took first place in the 50m Front crawl. Liam Brown took first in the 12/13 years 50m Front crawl. Maia Birse Archbold and Kenzie McMillan took first place in the nine years and under 25m Butterfly. The 10/11 years relay team took first place in the Free style relay.

Points are awarded for each swim, five points for first place, four points for second, three points for third place, two points for fourth place and one point for fifth place. The points were totalled up for each team throughout the gala and the battle for first team place switched between Brechin, Carnoustie and DCA.

It was a nail biting finish with DCA winning with 129 points, Carnoustie coming second with 127 points and Brechin third with 126 points, the Beavers were only three points from the winners. A spokesperson for Brechin Beavers said: “Well done to all the swimmers that swam by far their best performances, here’s to the next gala in May!”