Largest number of entrants to Brechin pipeband contest

Brechin Pipeband members who took part are, from left- Beth Ritchie, Andrew Young and Bethany Guthrie.
Brechin Pipeband members who took part are, from left- Beth Ritchie, Andrew Young and Bethany Guthrie.

The City of Brechin Pipeband held their annual solo piping and drumming contest at Brechin High School on Saturday, October 5.

The band had 101 entries - the largest ever number of entries - coming from all over Scotland.

Winners were as follows:-

The Mcfarlane Quaich (Under 18 chanter): 1, Jamie Burnett (Laurencekirk); 2, Douglas Freeburn (Leysmill); 3, Regin Smith (Glenrothes).

The Strachan Shield (18 and under novice piping): 1,- Brogan Townsley (Luncarty); 2, Callum Younger (Guildtown); 3,- Jamie Sinclair (Perth).

The Norma Mcleay Sheild (18 and under intermediate piping) - 1, Jordan Ednie (Monifieth); 2, Ross MacKinnon (Bridge of Earn); 3, Liam Brown- St. Cyrus.

The AP Jess trophy (18 and under 6/8 march): 1, Calum Brown (Peterculter); 2, Liam Donaldson (Kirriemuir); 3, Aarron Bryce (Perth).

The Northern Hotel Trophy (Under 15 MSR): 1, Calum Brown (Peterculter); 2, Owen Sweeney (Carnoustie); 3, Douglas Mair (Kinross).

The Myles Trophy (15 to 18 years MSR): 1, Liam Donaldson (Kirriemuir); 2, Aarron Bryce (Perth); 3, Alisdair Johnston (Glenalmond Collage).

The Robert Berry Shield (Under 15 Piobaireachd): 1, Calum Brown (Peterculter); 2, Lee Taylor (Aboyne); 3, Owen Sweeney (Carnoustie).

The Ferguson /Oliver Trophy (15 to 18 years Piobaireachd): 1, Liam Donaldson (Kirriemuir); 2, Cameron Wier (Dundee); 3, Aarron Bryce (Perth).

Wm and Sarah Silver Shield (18 and under jig): 1, Calum Brown (Peterculter); 2, Owen Sweney (Carnoustie); 3, Aarron Bryce (Perth).

The Charlie/ liz Murray Quaich (Open MSR): 1, Craig Black (Brechin); 2, Stuart Scott (Crieff).

The Christie Memorial Cup (Open hornpipe/jig): 1, Struan Moffat (Edzell); 2, Craig Black (Brechin); 3, Stuart Scott (Crieff).

The Brechin Castle Cup (18 and under drumming on pad): 1, Darren Nairn (Coupar Angus); 2, Fergus Younger (Guildtown); 3, Sean Wood (Forfar).

The G.A Moir Cup (18 and under Novice Drumming): 1, Megan Harper (Dumfermline); 2, Nicola Sinclair (Perth); 3, Sophie Bryson (Kinross).

The Mowatt Trophy (18 and under intermediate drumming): 1, Chloe Taylor (Strathtay); 2, Lewis Cox (Kinross); 3, Craig Foggo (St. Michaels).

The Mackie Motors Trophy (18 and under novice drumming MSR): 1, Abby Sutherland (Crieff); 2, Christopher Carter (Portlethen); 3, Chloe Taylor (Strathtay).

The McIntosh Quaich (Open Drumming MSR): 1, Brian Martin (Peterculter); 2, Abby Sutherland (Strathtay).

The Brechin Drum Corps Shield (Open hornpipe/jig): 1, Brian Martin (Peterculter); 2, Abby Sutherland (Crieff); 3, Christopher Carter (Portlethen).

The Grampian Growers Cup(18 and under novice tenor): 1, Andrew Bonner (Fife); 2, Erin Gillies (Perth); 3, Danielle MacDermid (Monifieth).

The McAndrew Family shield (18 and under novice tenor march): 1, Aarron Bryce (Perth); 2, Erin Gillies (Perth); 3, Beth Ritchie (Friockheim).

The Slater Trophy (18 and under tenor MSR): 1, Sophie Martin (Peterculter); 2, Holly Ross (Carnoustie).

MacDonald Energy Shield (open tenor): 1, Sarah Grant (Turriff). 2, Marteen Nicoll (Brechin)

Junior champion (piping) - Calum Brown (Peterculter).

Senior champion (piping) - Aarron Bryce (Perth).

Kath McAndrew, secretary of the band, said: “We would like to thank school staff and Strathmore foods for the pies they donated to help feed the crowds.

“Also, another first was soup and sandwiches and this went well.

“Thanks to all who donated food and raffles and helped on the day.”

The band’s annual general meeting will be held on October 24 in band hall at 7.30 p.m. All welcome.